Pulau Ubin

On my way to Pulau Ubin to check out the coastal and marine life!

-later-

Wow. What an awesome experience. After arriving at Pulau Ubin by ferry, I rented a bike to get to Chek Jawa, the mangrove and coastal wetland preserve, and also my final destination. I couldn’t have asked for better weather. Sunny with a slight overcast, and the humidity seemed relatively low. The bike ride was so refreshing. I would get on and off periodically and wander into the forest. On my way, I came across two families of monkeys, (I think they were capuchins), two families of wild pigs, and this crazy miniature Komodo dragon looking thing!

(will add pics as soon as I can get them off my camera)

When I finally reached the entrance to Chek Jawa, I had to park my bike and hike down. I can’t even describe the scene, and even a picture barely does it justice. I was so surprised to see that many acres of preserved mangrove forest. It kind of makes me want to re-think the whole tone of my paper, but it was definitely a “free day” well spent. I made some awesome observations to add to my paper while doing what I love. It doesn’t get much better than that!

20120603-203559.jpg

Leave a Reply

